The Caribbean Writer publishes special anniversary volume

Compilation dedicated to Haiti

Emma Watson

thumb: tcwvolume25coverweb400x

"The Caribbean Writer", an international literary journal published annually by the University of the Virgin Islands, which includes works from Caribbean writers of many genres, has just published its 25th edition. Dr Opal Palmer Adisa, now in her second year as editor, dedicated this silver anniversary issue to Haiti. Adisa says her intent is to pay homage to those Haitians who survived the 2010 earthquake on the island and to commemorate their ancestors who, were the first freedom fighters to prevail in 1803.

The volume features prose and poetry by some of Haiti’s internationally celebrated and emerging writers. Seasoned contributors include Edwidge Danticat, winner of the 2009 Fellow "Genius Award," Évelyne Trouillot, novelist and professor at Haiti’s State University, and Marilèene Phipps-Kettlewell, recipient of the Iowa Award for short fiction. The works of Haitian-American voices such as Michelle Y. Remy and Wilna Julmiste also resonate.

This first bilingual edition of "The Caribbean Writer" aims at a wider readership in the Caribbean, and a more diverse international market, according to Adisa.

This 640-page edition features 70 pages of poetry by some of the Caribbean’s leading poets including Kamau Brathwaite, Jennifer Rahim, Ernest Pépin and Sonia Sanchez. Also included are 100 pages of prose, a special section on Haitian Art and interviews with Earl Lovelace, who recently won the 2011 Caribbean Literary Prize, and Trinidad-American writer Elizabeth Nunez.

The cover art work features the painting of Pasko “Easter Rock” Mérisier, renowned Haitian artist who divides his time between Haiti and France. Interior art includes works by Sam Doudou, André Eugène, Chéby and Evelt Romain, some of the most innovative artists in Haiti today.

Virgin Island writers include Arnold R. Highfield, writer, historian and University of the Virgin Islands professor emeritus, Daisy Holder Lafond and Winifred “Oyoko” Loving. Also featured are book reviews by current University of the Virgin Islands' professors Simon Jones-Hendrickson, Gillian Royes, Lomarsh Roopnarine, Valerie Combie and Lucia R. DiMeo.

All works were juried by an editorial board comprised of Edgar O. Lake, president of the Society of Virgin Islands Historians, Alscess Lewis-Brown, director of the Human Resources Bureau of the VI Police Department, Kenny Hendrickson and Dolace Mclean, professors from both University of the Virgin Islands campuses in St. Croix and St. Thomas.

You can find the Silver Anniversary/Volume 25 of The Caribbean Writer at the University of the Virgin Islands bookstores and at independent booksellers in St. Thomas, St. Croix and St. John. Copies, priced at $25, can also be ordered directly from "The Caribbean Writer’s" email , call 340- 692-4152, or visit "The Caribbean Writer" here.

Cover image of" The Caribbean Writer" courtesy University of the Virgin Islands.

Click Here to Add a Comment